CCW/WEBCHECK

EFFECTIVE MAY 3, 2021:
CCW'S AND WEBCHECKS WILL BE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY!!
 
Greene County residents may book an appointment or continue to utilize the walk-in hours each Friday


CCW & Webcheck Hours:
 Monday, Tuesday, Thursday: ALL Ohio Counties by appointment only 8:00 am - 3:00 pm, excluding all legal holidays
 Wednesday: CLOSED
 Friday: ​Greene County residents                        ONLY - walk-in from 8:00 am -                3:00 pm, excluding all legal holidays

Finger Print Cards continue to be SUSPENDED. 

Cash/personal checks NOT accepted

Please see below for a checklist of required documents to apply/renew for a CCW

Click here to schedule an appointment:

Schedule CCW Permit Appointment

**Due to high call volume and voicemails, the CCW office is not currently accepting calls or voicemails for the foreseeable future. Please review the information located on this page regarding applying for a CCW license, change of address, etc.**

 

Ohio Attorney General Concealed Carry Website


The Ohio Attorney General’s website contains materials explaining many portions of Ohio’s concealed handgun licensing law:

Ohio Concealed Handgun License Information

With regard to the State of Ohio Application for License to Carry a Concealed Handgun, it is the intention of the Ohio Legislature that this law (RC 2923.125) is compliant with the National Instant Criminal Background check system.  This system of checks contains disqualifiers not specifically enumerated in Section III and/or IV of the license Application. 

If a disqualifier is found, your application will be denied.  Read this  Federal Disqualifier Notice


CCW Application Checklist

The applicant must bring the following items at the time of submitting an application:
Failure to bring ALL required documents will result in the cancellation of your appointment and you will need to re-schedule for a later date. 

Original CCW License


  • Copy of Training Certificate
    • Certificate must be within 3 years of taking 8 hour competency certification training course
    • Active and Reserve Military - must bring your most recent firearms qualification or CCW Training Certificate along with your active military ID.
    • Veterans must bring DD214 showing honorable discharge
  • 2x2 Passport Photo 
  • Current Photo Identification
    • Driver's license or State ID card
  • Self-addressed stamped envelope - this is how you will receive your permit.
  • Forms of Payment:
  We accept Debit/Credit cards, Cashier's check or money order payable to Greene County Sheriff's Office. A 2.2% fee applies when using a debit/credit card.        
CASH AND PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED
  • Application fee will be waived for veterans, active and reserve military pursuant to Senate Bill 81 (with appropriate documentation). 

Renewal CCW License

  • Completed Renewal Application Form - The application MUST be completed in its entirety prior to your appointment.
  • 2x2 passport photo (ONLY if initial or renewal applications have NOT been made through Greene County Sheriff's Office.)
  • Previous CCW License  
           Active and Reserve Military must bring most recent firearms qualification and active             military ID
           Veterans must bring DD214 showing honorable discharge

  • Current Photo Identification
    • Driver's license or State ID card
  • Self-Addressed Stamped Envelope - this is how you will receive your permit.
  • Forms of Payment
        We accept Debit/Credit cards, Cashier's Check or Money Order payable to Greene              County Sheriff's Office. A 2.2% fees applies when using a debit/credit card.
CASH AND PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED 

  • Application fee will be waived for veterans, active and reserve military pursuant to Senate Bill 81 (with appropriate documentation).
Failure to disclose a criminal record when applying for a CCW Permit will be treated as filing a false legal document and could result in a criminal prosecution and/or denial of your permit. Your application is considered a legal document and is expected to contain compete and accurate information.

BCI/FBI WEBCHECK

 Please print and fill out the form below. You will need to know the statute code to ensure the webcheck is processed properly. You do not need to fill out for CCW permits. 

Corrections needed to CCW permits?
If you need a correction to your permit due to a clerical error you may come to the Sheriff's Office at 120 E. Main Street on Wednesdays OR during walk in hours at the CCW window (105 E. Market Street) on Fridays. You must bring your CCW permit and a valid photo ID (Drivers License or State ID) Please note: this is ONLY for clerical error corrections -- you will need to make an appointment for a replacement permit if yours is lost/stolen. 

Name Change:
If your name has changed due to marriage, divorce, adoption, etc.: you MUST bring a copy to your appointment of the legal document showing the name change. Failure to bring said documentation will result in the cancellation of your appointment and you will need to re-schedule for a later date.